How to Survive the Holidays While Hurting [Podcast]

Surviving the holidays while hurting can seem impossible. Christmas is hard enough to deal with when life is good! When you are hurting due to a spouse’s infidelity, due to losing a job or financial issues, due to physical illness, due to personal issues such as depression, due to family issues, or for any reason, how are you supposed to survive?

In this week’s episode we finish the year with a question we are asked almost every year: “How am I supposed to have a holiday with my children when my spouse just walked out on me!  They don’t even know we have no money! WHAT DO I DO?”

Verses in this podcast:
I Peter 5:7 Cast your cares on Him for He careth for you

Matthew 6:26-34 regarding the birds of the air and the lilies of the field

Matthew 10:29-31 Are not two sparrows sold for a penny ? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

Psalm 143:4 I am losing all hope; I am paralyzed with fear. I remember the days of old. I ponder all your great works and think about what you have done. I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain.

Next week we’ll begin our new four-week series “Caring for Your CHILDREN When There’s Been an Affair.”  We’ll talk about the ideal: what we are supposed to be teaching our children.  We’ll itemize what children NEED when one of their parents has an affair.  We’ll get into common pitfalls parents make when one has been unfaithful.  And we’ll end on letting God heal broken hearts!

[audio: https://s3.amazonaws.com/affaircare-podcast/Survive+Holidays.mp3]

sample 460x60 ad

2 thoughts on “How to Survive the Holidays While Hurting [Podcast]

  1. I have lost my faith.
    Not sure about my faith in God but I certainly have no faith in myself
    I am a completely worthless person who, when I consider if I hadn’t been born at all, what would the world be like.
    I don’t think I would be missed at all.
    My wife tells me that she is a different person now and was so stupid and that she doesn’t understand how she could have been so mean and vindictive for such a long time.
    She says that she loves me with all of her heart now but I don’t think that she really understands what love is.
    I need to talk to someone but I don’t know who.
    Every time I contact any counseling service they ask me ” do I think I am going to harm myself or any one else” . I tell the truth as I want help and if I lie then the help I get will be based on this lie.
    I tell them I would never hurt anyone else but I think everyday about ending my life.
    It’s not that I want to die it’s just I am so sad and I just want to stop hurting.
    I have prayed and prayed for help but every time I go somewhere for help they either tell me they can’t talk to me because of my suicidal thoughts or as was the case recently the counselor wanted to contact the critical incident management team so I would be committed for immediate treatment against my will.
    I left and never went back.
    I don’t want to die but no one is listening.
    I should have turned to God earlier but I can’t understand why I am such a bad or horrible worthless person that she did what she did.
    I have lost more than my dream of being and having a soulmate. I have had my eyes opened to who I really am, I am good for people’s amusement and that’s about it.
    I can’t even kill myself properly.
    I have tried 3 times in the last 6 weeks.
    i am scared every day.
    I’m scared and ashamed and then at night I remember all of the dreams I have had about being a good dad and husband and I look at myself now and realise I can’t do either. I can’t satisfy my wife and I will just end up being an embarrassment to my children as they group older and see me for who I am.
    I have given myself over to Jesus and hope that he will guide and protect me.
    Maybe if there is anyone who can contact me to tell me what I should do.
    I’m so confused please if you don’t do this can you recommend any services that I can talk to who won’t want to drug me into a stupor or lock me away. I just need some advice from someone who is smarter than me
    Thanx💔

Leave a Reply

